Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Review: Blood Makes Noise by Gregory Widen


Blood Makes NoiseBlood Makes Noise by Gregory Widen
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

If you're looking for a good thriller or interested in CIA history or Latin American history, this will be a gripping read for you. I'll admit I'm not an expert on the CIA or Latin American, however, though the course of the story I learned more about both. (There's a lot more to Evita Peron than the movie starring Madonna...her entire body was preserved, creating a relic for her people).

The plot, based on true events, follows a CIA agent named Michael. Ultimately, he plays a vital role in moving Evita’s preserved body. Jumping ahead years later, when Michael’s past is more complicated, he is the only one who knows where Evita’s body is located. A race to reach her is created.

To me, the book started slowly. However, it did get better as it went along. Gregory Widen is also a screenwriter, and it was apparent to me while reading this book. I felt that the scenes were mostly carried by dialogue and actions. Compared to what I'm familiar with, there weren't tons of details and vivid descriptions. Not necessarily a bad thing. It just sometimes left me wondering and wanting more information about the characters.

All-in-all, I think it would transition into a great movie.


View all my reviews

Top Ten Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book


Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We'd love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Each week we will post a new Top Ten list  that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don't have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! It's a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.

Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book

1. Regency England
I am a regency nerd. Thank you Jane Austen and the many other authors I've read for teaching about this cool time period!



2. Unicorns
I am a shameless unicorn collector. Before it was nerdy-retro-pop-culture-hip, I was hanging unicorn art on my walls...ten years ago, lol. Love a good unicorn fantasy or children's story.




3. Doctors
Whether it's a cheesy romance or a real-life biography, I enjoy reading about characters and people in my husband's field.



4. Dystopia
When done right, dystopian stories keep me up reading at night.



5. Vampires
Okay, I'll admit, at one time this would have been number one on my list. However, right now the overall media world is flooded with vampires and I feel like a need a little break from them. Not collecting as many vampire stories as I was ten years ago.


6. Novels Turned Into Graphic Novels
I honestly think I'm digging the novels-to-graphic-novels trend more and more. Seemingly, they are getting better. I think I enjoy the graphic novels best when the writers and illustrators don't automatically assume I've read the novel.



7. Retellings
It's usually interesting to see an author's take on a classic fable, fairytale, or myth.



8. Anthropomorphic Animals
Generally, I enjoy stories in the vein of Watership Down and Rats of NIMH.



9. Love Triangles
A good love triangle keeps the tension going and the pages turning.



10. Inspirational
When life gets busy and hectic, sometimes it's good to read something inspirational and reflect on the positives in life. From time to time I like reading biographies of inspirational people or general motivating, self-help books.


Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Top Ten Books I Had a Strong Emotion About

I saw this meme last week on Rex Robot Reviews and decided that I wanted to make my own list. Here goes!

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We'd love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Each week we will post a new Top Ten list  that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don't have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! It's a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.


Top Ten Books I Had a Strong Emotion About

1. The Diary of a Young Girl
I've read this book three different times for school, and each time, it really gets to me. Over the course of her diary Anne starts to feel like a friend. The voice that comes from her writing is timeless and full of truth.



This book is not for the faint of heart. I really admired Ree's determination and strength in the face of dysfunction, danger, and hardship. Her struggle has had a lasting effect on me.




This book has changed the way that I think about hitchhikers, the homeless, and nature. I now better understand how someone can go from having everything to struggling to survive.


4. Crank
At first I avoided this book and didn't get its appeal. However, once I gave it a try, I was impressed at how eloquent it is. It helped me understand how an average teen can fall into the dangerous cycle of addiction.



I guess maybe I should be ashamed that every time I read the ending of this it makes me cry? I had a classmate die at the end of my senior year and every time I read this book it reminds me of the day I found out.


This one makes me cry, too, but for different reasons. In the end, I was so glad that Katniss and Peeta were able to find happiness and have a semi-normal life. I was really worried that both of them were going to die. So for this one, it's more tears of happiness for the characters.



A classic tear-jerker. Better to have loved and lost than never loved at all. It's an older book, but old enough to be retro, cool now.


One of the few times I have wanted to throw a book across the room. I wanted to shake the main character and tell her that she's in love with the wrong guy!


I think anyone who has ever lost a pet is moved by this one.


I always have a hard time finishing this one. I know that the main character is a unicorn, but I always want there to a be way for Amalthea and Lir to be together and live happily-ever-after. I haven't read the sequel...*fingers still crossed*.


Monday, April 22, 2013

Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick


My Life Next DoorMy Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I know this might be a bold statement, but this book restored my faith in my enjoyment of YA romance as a genre. For a while now, I've had the feeling that I'm too old to enjoy YA anymore...before reading this book, I found myself connecting with YA characters less and less. The whole *I'm-too-old-for-this* and "that's-not-what-it-was-like-when-I-was-teen" feeling. I guess you'd say I enjoy YA romance that has a timeless feel. Yes, times and technology change, but a good romance should always feel timeless and refreshing, no matter the readers' or the characters' age.

This book definitely has that timeless and refreshing feel.

Samantha Reed is working several jobs and getting ready for college. Her family life is almost non-existent. She doesn't have a dad, her sister is busy with her boyfriend, her mom is a politician running for re-election, and her mom has also just started dating again. Samantha's mother has always told her to keep away from the tacky, shabby large family next door. However, after years of being neighbors, when Samantha finally meets the boy next door, Jase, Samantha finds what she has been looking for: love and a happy family.

In my opinion, this story realistically shows the gradually process of having a crush, truly falling in love, and the struggle to maintain a relationship when life gets rocky. Along with the romance aspect of the story, I also loved Jase's family! They reminded me of a contemporary Weasley clan.

My hat's off to Huntley Fitzpatrick, can't wait for her next book!


View all my reviews

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails