Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Top Ten Worlds I'd Never Want to Live In

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We'd love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Each week we will post a new Top Ten list  that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don't have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! It's a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.

Top Ten Worlds I'd Never Want to Live In

(In Order of Dread)

1. Any Warhammer Novel- 40K Universe: Oshie, my husband, loves this universe, but we really, REALLY wouldn't want to live there. Constant war, aliens, demons, humanity's emperor is on life support...not good times, unless you really like chaos.




2. The Song of Ice and Fire Universe: Seemingly, death or tragedy finds everyone in the Seven Kingdoms. Author George R. R. Martin could decide he doesn't like you anymore.


3. The Hunger Games - Panem: Oppression and starvation or your name in the bowl to fight in the Hunger Games? As much as I love The Hunger Games series, I would be a nervous wreck living there.


4. The Saga Universe: War, magic, divided alien races. Fun to read, wouldn't want to live there.


5. Inuyasha - Feudal Japan: I also love Inuyasha, but going between the past and the present to fight demons is not for me.



6. Regency England (Jane Austen, Julia Quinn, etc.): If I had a time machine, I'd love to visit Regency England, but I wouldn't want to stay forever. I'd miss the Internet, refrigerators, my car, being able to wear jeans, etc.


7. Gone With the Wind (Pre, Mid, and Post American Civil War): I would have hated living in a time when America was completely divided. War, death, and lack of supplies.


8. Dune - Arrakis: While I think the female Bene Gesserit group is awesome, being stuck without water or addicted to spice, sounds like a hard life.


9. The Casual Vacancy - Pagford: Depressing small-town politics? Been there, done that.


10. The Southern Vampire Mysteries/True Blood Universe: As a longtime vampire fan, I'm not sure how I'd feel if vampires suddenly revealed themselves. Some things are best left unknown or in books.

Sunday, January 26, 2014

Review: Let's Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson


Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True MemoirLet's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny  Lawson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Jenny Lawson gives you fair warning: something in her book will offend you.

While browsing in a bookstore, I randomly opened to the chapter on "Thanks for the Zombies, Jesus," which kinda gave me the wrong impression of the overall book (I thought it was either a hipster-obsessed zombie person or the standard mock family, politics, and religion).

But knowing that it was a Goodreads 2012 Choice winner and had several great reviews, I kept going back to it and eventually bought it.

REALLY glad that I did.

Jenny Lawson is hilarious. She ranges from witty to snarky to absurd. From her unusual childhood as a rural taxidermist's daughter, to slices of her life with her husband and child, I had a hard time putting the book down, excited for more quirky adventures with Jenny Lawson.

She's right, you'll find something inappropriate or offense in the book. It's probably not for everyone. But in my opinion, the good outweighs the bad. The fact that she's worked through times of social anxiety and depression with humor actually made the book very inspiring to me.

I liked it so much, I'm now following her on Twitter and plan to read her blog. Here's to hoping she publishes more laugh-out-loud books in the future as well!


View all my reviews

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Giveaway: $10 Amazon Giftcard - Help A Med Student Out!



It's been awhile since we had a giveaway and Oshie and I need your help! Oshie is doing a community medicine project about obesity at his medical school. He decided to share healthy food recipes through Youtube videos, instead of doing a live presentation or Powerpoint.

Part of his grade for the project comes from a quick, anonymous survey (Name and Email NOT NEEDED), which helps him and his professor understand if the video was helpful and educational. It also helps them understand the general public's knowledge of healthy food.

We'd like a few more views and survey responses before the project is due! So, we've decided to bribe you with the chance to win a $10 Amazon giftcard!

Watch one of the videos (Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner) at: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXhLe6_Y6RCUGTH9qcS_NgQ and then take the quick survey at: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1ciXDY_JTMdqV4_cXkQe-vWOQM9kf4AFDBb_2m2dNd2k/viewform and afterwards fill out the Rafflecopter:



Thank you for your help!!

Sunday, January 19, 2014

Classics Corner Review: Pollyanna by Eleanor H. Porter



Pollyanna (Pollyanna, #1)Pollyanna by Eleanor H. Porter
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

There was a time in my young life that I probably knew Disney's version of Pollyanna line-for-line. I-kid-you-not. As the granddaughter of much older grandparents, Pollyanna is universally-grandparent approved. It was watched frequently at their house, along with Shirley Temple and Little House on the Prairie.

While I will always cherish the Disney movie and my memories surrounding it, the book tried my patience at times. In the movie, Pollyanna is more of a tomboy and sneaks away from her aunt for a good cause. In the book, she is annoying goody-goody. She is the perfect, unrealistic, angel child. I don't care if your parents were missionaries, you're going to get in trouble sometimes! She is like the anti-Anne of Green Gables and Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm. Pollyanna would totally tattle-tell on them.

I probably could have got passed the perfectness if the story hadn't taken a creepy turn. In the movie, the creepy old man who lives alone in the woods adopts Jimmy Bean. And notice, there's never a scene where Pollyanna is alone with the old man. Well, in the book, the creepy old man wants to adopt Pollyanna. Why, you ask? Because the creepy old man was madly in love with Pollyanna's mother and now he wants to raise Pollyanna. But Pollyanna has Aunt Polly, right, her relative? Creepy old man doesn't care.

Maybe in 1913 it was sweet that your mom's old recluse boyfriend wants to adopt you...in 2013 it was just creepy, I couldn't get over it.


View all my reviews

Monday, January 13, 2014

My Top Books of 2013

Ok, where did the time go?! 2013 flew by for me and I can't believe it's already time to write about my top books of 2013.


1. Blackmoore by Julianne Donaldson: Hands down this was my most anticipated title of the year. I loved the hero in Donaldson's Edenbrooke and was eager for more from this new clean-but-hot romance author. Blackmoore was all I was looking for and more, a sense of adventure and a kind and patience hero with unconditional love for the heroine, all-in-all a great escape. This one will be forever on my "keeper" shelf.


2. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald: Years ago I would have balked at the idea of reading a book without a happy ending. Now that I'm older, I'm able to see the value in a character's journey, happy or tragic. The Great Gatsby has plenty of tragic characters. I enjoyed the complexity of The Great Gatsby and I've spent a lot of time trying to decide if Daisy Buchanan is merely fickle, self-centered, or adapts to survive her tragic situation. Overall, it's a story that has kept me thinking and questioning it's characters months afterward.



3. If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch: was a pleasant surprise that I took a chance on. Previous to 2013, I did not read a lot of non-paranormal/fantasy, contemporary YA. The struggle to survive and the suspense of this story really drew me in. Rarely do you find heroines as tough as the main character, Carey, in teen lit.


4. Hark A Vagrant by Kate Beaton: A 2012 Christmas gift, in 2013 I started the year off right with this hilarious collection of comic strips for lit/history buffs. Quirky, high-brow, and nerdy, it is a rare book that allows me to enjoy a good laugh and material most likely found in textbooks and on Jeopardy.



5. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick: was a sweet coming-of-age romance. The story progressed realistically as the main character, Samantha, found romance, friends, and an escape from her own family's pressure, next door. I'm looking forward to Huntley Fitzpatrick's next novel, What I Thought Was True, April 2014.



6. Once Upon A Prince by Rachel Hauck: was a delightful story inspired by the courtship and marriage of real-life Will & Kate. Although the plot, average American girl meets foreign prince, has been done hundreds of times, Rachel Hauck made the situation plausible and kept me guessing, to a point that, I honestly didn't know how the characters would end up together.



7. Anya's Ghost by Vera Brosgol: came highly recommended to me! This lightly macabre graphic novel is great for fans of Neil Gaiman's Coraline or Tim Burton in general. Creepy, but with a cute drawing style. Honestly surprised it isn't an animated feature.


8. I Am Pusheen the Cat by Claire Belton: I'm completely fangirl biased for this one. Absolutely adorable. A cute fat cat doing cute things. Really brightens my day. A comforting, bad mood buster.


9. The Lost Duke of Wyndham by Julia Quinn: After finishing the more upbeat Bridgerton series by Julia Quinn, it was interesting to read a story with a slightly more dark tone. The hero is a highwayman and the heroine a lady's companion, with no happy, supportive family in the background. I like that Quinn experimented creating a world different than her previous work.


10. Stepping on Roses Vol. 9 by Rinko Ueda: Another highly anticipated pre-order. Although the ending wasn't my ideal thoughts for the characters, it was a good end to a series I really enjoyed. A happily-ever-after to a Cinderella-esque romantic comedy.

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails