Wednesday, April 27, 2016

My Top Bookworm Delights


My Top Bookworm Delights

Cute Adhesive Flags - Forget bookmarks, I'm all about adorable sticky notes nowadays. They're easy to keep up with and handy to bookmark all your fav quotes.

(found at Girlofallwork.com or B&N)


Visiting New Libraries - You know you're a bookworm when you visit libraries on vacation, lol. It's a free thing to do, they normally have clean restrooms, and you get a unique feel for the city. A city's only as cool as it's library.

Awesome Tees - I love finding cool tees of my favorite books. Surprisingly, they're actually good conversation starters. Especially at conventions and festivals.

(Outofprinttees.com)


Library / Used Bookstore Cats - It's no secret I'm a cat person, real bad, haha. Having the local bookcat wish you "Happy Reading" is purfect.

Getting Books in the Mail - As much I as like going to bookstores, there's something delightful about walking to the mailbox and finding a new or used book has arrived, all wrapped up like a birthday gift.

Book Turned Movie - Most of the time, this excites me. I enjoy the anticipation of what Hollywood will do and comparing it to my own imagination.

Finding Out The Book Is Better Than The Movie - Which is almost, always the case when you see the movie before reading the book.

Books Turned Graphic Novel/Manga - I'm a geek who loves comics, so it's a great combo for me when my fav lit is re-imagined as a graphic novel.

(P&P manga)

Reading Outdoors - Give me a cool breeze, sunshine, the sound of birds singing, and a fun read and I'm good for hours!

FanArt - I guess this goes hand-and-hand with loving comics. There's nothing like finding an awesome fanart of your fav characters by a uniquely talented fellow fan. (Thank you Pinterest and Deviantart!)

(lovely!)

Tuesday, April 19, 2016

Ten Books That Will Make You Laugh


Ten Books That Will Make You Laugh

Weird Things Customers Say In Bookshops by Jen Campbell - Perfect book for us bookworms. Plenty of awkward, I-can't-believe-someone-said-that moments. Like a series of inside jokes from your favorite bookstore.

Cat Vs. Human by Yasmine Surovec - If you're a cat-owner or fan in general, this is a must read. Surovec captures all the crazy details of the silly critters we love.

The Indispensable Calvin and Hobbes by Bill Watterson - A classic. Something for everyone. Even if you're not into comics, Watterson's work is forever ingrained in pop culture.

The Worrier's Guide To Life by Gemma Correll - Over-thinking, girl power humor! Quirky and relatable, Correll will help you forget your worries for a moment.

Love and Freindship by Jane Austen - Young Jane Austen loved her over-the-top melodrama and shows it in this outrageous parody of her time. Lots and lots of lovely fainting!

Fat Cat Art by Svetlana Petrova - OMG, I cracked up just looking at the pictures. The author is a genius combining three of my favorite things: lols, cats, and art.

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery - Anne's character has the delightful power to crack you up. Her overactive imagination is funny in itself, as well as, the situations she gets herself and her friends into along the way.

The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot - It's been years, but in memory, it never failed to make me laugh. My favorite modern YA.

Dad is Fat by Jim Gaffigan - A fun, chaotic, slice of life about Jim and his family in New York (5 kids in an apartment, wow).  Jim is naturally funny. I highly recommend it.

Wreck This Journal by Keri Smith - Not a comedy per say, but if you do half the requests in the book, you'll be laughing at the absurdity. 

Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Ten Bookish Sites I LOVE

Ten Bookish Sites I LOVE


Paperbackswap.com - When I joined this site years ago, it really boosted my reading. Basically, you trade books for credits, much like an online used bookstore. Unfortunately, they now charge a subscription fee...but for me, it's still worth it.

Bookmooch.com - Similar concept, but free!

LibriVox.org - If you're looking for free public-domain audio, I highly recommend their dramatic readings.

Outofprintclothing.com - Too cool. My P&P sweater from them is one of my fav articles of clothing ever.

Teefury.com - Great for cute geekery in general, however they have tons of cute items for fans of LOTR, Harry Potter, Hunger Games, Poe, and classic children's lit.

Betterworldbooks.com- If you're looking for cheap used paperbacks, they have several sales throughout the year. And it's all for a good cause!

Netgalley.com - Fun way to discover new authors through advance digital copies.

Bloggingforbooks.com - Ditto. I'm so thankful for the bookish opportunities from this site.

YourNextRead.com - Helpful site for those frustrating times when you go to the bookshelf and think "I'm really not sure what I want to read..."

Goodreads.com - No secret here, I've been addicted to this site for years!

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails